Rep. Kim: Deny Iranian President Raisi Entry Visa

  • by
  • 1 year ago
  • Comments Off
Rep. Kim

Rep. Young Kim Leads 52 Members in Urging President Biden to Deny Iranian President Raisi Entry Visa to U.S.

September 8, 2022     |     Press Release

Washington, DC – As first reported by Fox News, U.S. Representative Young Kim (CA-39) led a bipartisan letter to President Biden urging his administration to deny Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi and his delegation entry into the United States for the United Nations 77th General Assembly in New York later this month.

President Raisi was a member of the Tehran “death committee” responsible for the 1988 organized mass execution of 30,000 Iranian political prisoners, most of which were members or supporters of the People’s Mojahedin of Iran (MEK/PMOI). His regime continues supporting terrorism abroad and attempts to kill American citizens and Iranian political dissidents on U.S. soil.

“Given Ebrahim Raisi’s record of supporting terrorism and violating human rights, he should not be afforded the privilege to step onto American soil nor the privilege to address the United Nations General Assembly,” the members wrote. “We cannot turn a blind eye to perpetrators of gross violations of internationally recognized human rights and cruel regimes that endanger both their people and Americans. We urge you and your administration to carefully consider this matter of national security and to use your authorities under the INA to deny Ebrahim Raisi and his delegation entry into the United States.”

Rep. Kim was joined in sending the letter by Reps. Maria Salazar (FL-27), Claudia Tenney (NY-22), Byron Donalds (FL-19), Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01), Carlos Gimenez (FL-26), Doug LaMalfa (CA-01), Greg Steube (FL-17), Randy Weber (TX-14), Ann Wagner (MO-02), Bob Latta (OH-05), Tim Ryan (OH-13), Nancy Mace (SC-01), Ted Budd (NC-13), Don Bacon (NE-02), Dan Crenshaw (TX-02), Ralph Norman (SC-05), Neal Dunn (FL-02), David McKinley (WV-01), Debbie Lesko (AZ-08), Tom McClintock (CA-04), Stephanie Bice (OK-05), Tom Emmer (MN-06), Lisa McClain (MI-10), David Valadao (CA-21), Kat Cammack (FL-03), Nicole Malliotakis (NY-11), Andrew Garbarino (NY-02), Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14), Tony Gonzales (TX-23), William Timmons (SC-04), Darrell Issa (CA-50), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-02), Blake Moore (UT-01), Bob Gibbs (OH-07), Mike Turner (OH-10), Louie Gohmert (TX-01), Drew Ferguson (GA-03), Chris Stewart (UT-02), Pete Sessions (TX-17), Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18), Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-03), Bob Good (VA-05), Brad Wenstrup (OH-02), Troy Balderson (OH-12), Scott Perry (PA-10), Gus Bilirakis (FL-12), Tim Burchett (TN-02), Joe Wilson (SC-02), James Baird (IN-04), Abigail Spanberger (VA-07), Ronny Jackson (TX-13) and Pete Stauber (MN-08).

Read the full letter here.




  • facebook
  • googleplus
  • twitter
  • linkedin
  • linkedin
Previous «
Next »